Skip to main content


"Moss, Trees, Lichen, twigs, dead leaves, soil, insects, birds, the wind, the rain and sunshine. Bracken basks in the shade and reaches upwards and outwards. My vision of the horizon broken by forest, the silence broken by birdsong, space, peace and quiet but never complete silence. For now this is my home."

Matthew Shaw (Tex La Homa, Fougou, The Blue Tree) offers us a meditation on place; a quiet valediction to his beloved South West England.

'Metherell' is music born of a perfect moment, the repetitious swell and pitch of piano, our witness to the simple pleasures found in ancient woodland, seen through the half-light.

The reference to geographical place puts one in mind of earlier environmental music; the style and easy posture of the composition owes a quiet word of gratitude to Eno and Basinski. This is all for the good.

STRICTLY limited to 50 copies, 'Metherell' is available from the 18th October. The CDR release costs 5GBP and is available for pre-order now.

POSTAGE & PAYPAL INFORMATION - CDRS - In the UK, please add 50p towards p&p for one disc, £1 for 2 or more. Outside the UK, please add £1 towards p&p for one disc, £2 for 2 or more. Paypal is preferred - the address is sonicoysterrecords (at) yahoo (dot) co (dot) uk.


Popular posts from this blog

The Avebury cycle with Michael Dames

On Saturday 24th March, just past the Equinox I met one of my hero's, Michael Dames. I first read The Silbury Treasure by Michael, and had to get my hands on The Avebury Cycle straight afterwards, really though I would recommend any of his writing. The guy is amazing. On this occasion Michael had been invited to a moot organised rom the switched on guys from the network of Ley hunters, a great bunch an a three day Avebury trip. I joined them with some friends for the Saturday, beginning with Michael performing a Plough Jag play in the center of the circle, using us to replace missing and fallen stones, and to get right into his Avebury theories, which literally we're brought to life from the pages of Michael himself. An added bonus and great honor for me was to help Michael by becoming one of his Bulls, along with another game chap. OK, so maybe I felt a slight twinge of embarrassment initially while putting on this cardboard mask but this was Michael dames, and he neded b…

Richard Youngs & Heather Leigh Murray

Richard Youngs & Heather Leigh Murray Live at the Vortex