Skip to main content


Showing posts from April, 2010

Stormhat - From The Moat

Out now at apollolaan

Susan Matthews & Clutter - Silence Alight

out now at apollolaan

Fougou 'Reversed Dreams of This Nature"

FOUGOU: Reversed Dreams of this Nature - CDR (Ikuisuus, 2010) 1. Bicones
2. Ladram Bay
3. Oculus
4. Urnfield
5. The Sentinel Watches"Truly an "underground" project, Fougou (pronounced "foo-goo") is a new venture by Brian Lavelle and Matthew Shaw which takes its starting point in the mysterious prehistory of Cornwall in the southwest of the British Isles, in particular that areas's enigmatic subterranean chambers known as fougous. Credible theories have proposed that the purpose of these chambers was ritualistic - as portals to elsewhere. The music of Fougou flows from that idea and is inspired also by the writings of British archaeologist and researcher, T.C. Lethbridge (1901-1973) along with other like-minded individuals. It is an attempt to capture the music of the earth and the stones, as well as the sound of the spaces between those stones.Dense electronics, synthesizers, vocals and other elements combine to sinister and often startling effe…